baby due dates….are they ever correct?

wombbbbbbI have laughed about this topics on many occasions with my friends. From the moment you miss your period and see your doctor to confirm pregnancy you are automatically lumbered with dates. Dates for screening,dates for scans,dates for gestational diabetes and the list goes on. The most important date however is the due date which according to health professionals is estimated from the first day of your last period. Pregnancy usually last up to 37-40 weeks so your health professional would give a date based on that. Not many woman know this but  i have just read on baby centre that sperm can the sperm can hang around in the fallopian tube until an attractive eggs pops along..how interesting indeed so just because you do the deed on Monday it does not necessaries mean baby happened straight away so i think i now understand how due dates can be misleading. I have to emphasise that due dates are simply there as a guide to enable health professionals to offer better care to both mum and baby so that is quite reassuring.

I have had my own drama with due dates, with my first baby i was told she would be born on 14th march. I was also told that first babies never come .I started maternity leave on 1st March and  14th March came and went and there was no sign of my baby girl. And as days went by i started to look for signs of labour and there was no broken water, no gushing of anything. Nothing at all like what Hollywood has fed people for decades. I started to feel unwell with raised temperature and had strong contractions. I called the hospital and they kept telling me, ‘sorry you do not sound like your in labour’. This carried on for days until i eventually took my maternity bag and decided to go in regardless because by then i had not slept for almost 1 due to strong contractions. I am glad i went in because i was told i had severe urine infection and i was given antibiotics and kept in as i was already overdue and not in good shape. I was in a state of panic but i thank God my husband was there the whole time praying and also the lady from the Womb ministry called everyday to pray and assure me that it will all happen in God’s time! So my first baby girl was born on the 23rd March and not the 14th March.

My second baby was also overdue. Because of all the issues that went on with the first i was advised to go in for a sweep from 38 weeks. My score was very low and i was told to come back weekly for sweeps which was so uncomfortable and painful might i add…(wow the stuff us woman go through). Anyway i remembered what sister Ayo said about everything being in God’s time. God knitted that precious baby in my womb and in His appointed time the birth would take place. One Friday morning i woke up with strong urge to clean the house even though my husband insisted i sit on the sofa. I cleaned the house top to bottom and only sat down to eat in the evening when my sister in-law made some delicious beef stew with lots of scotch bonnet chilli. As soon i finished eating i turned around and said to my husband, ‘lets go (i know that chilli kicked started full labour lol)’. We were admitted and by the morning i was more than 5cm dilated and by Sunday at 2am my darling princess was born. She was due on the 3rd April but arrived on the 14th April.

If you are waiting for your little miracle please take heart. God is with you and as a believer you need to just immerse yourself with the word of God just the way your take your daily pregnancy multivitamins. I can assure you the Word will sustain you and your baby Amen!!

 

funny image by Richard Gunther from mightymarg.org

2 thoughts on “baby due dates….are they ever correct?

    • yes o! Chilli peppers, raspberry tea,walking,stress and bedroom activities (husbands encourage that) lol, Thanks for popping by and i just popped over to yours and really enjoyed reading your blog, i shall be visiting more often.

Leave a Reply

