I think its time to ditch the baby sling

ImageBaby slings are known to come in handy and my Graco baby carrier has served us so well. From the time my baby Shalom was born i knew i would used it more than i did with my first. I needed something that i could use with ease whilst taking my oldest to nursery drop off,pick up and even church. When Shalom was born i also purchased a hauck freerider double buggy. This is a lovely buggy with a generous rain cover but i often felt uneasy on the bus as it takes the space of nearly 2 buggies and sometimes other parents are not as patient. Grace has grown too and it is becoming more difficult to push the hauck so it has to go unfortunately. The hauck has also served its purpose but i think it would be best suited for children with similar weight who are also close in age.For months i have been using the sling and other mums have praised me for being brave enough to carry her on the sling beyond 6 months. For me it has not been about the age but rather the weight. It does say not to be used beyond 9 kilos and miss Shalom has grown and put some good weight on (not as much as i would like as still refusing non breast milk). I have started feeling more pain and pressure around my chest,neck and shoulders and i do not think i am doing both of us any favours so the other day i looked around on good old gumtree.com to see if i could find a joovy caboose. It seems like it would be perfect as Miss Grace can always sit on the bench or stand on the board whilst Shalom sits at the front. I have searched high and low for the ultralight joovy but it does not seem widely available within the UK. This buggy seems to be mostly available in America:( so i am hoping something will come through on gumtree soon because the sling is ready to go to the old sling’s home lol. Shalom is now over 10 kilos plus Β and i am just not enjoying the sling any more but i know i will miss having my baby close to me as well as being able to keep her calm whilst out and about. I will certainly also miss being guaranteed a bus journey because 2 buggy rule never applies.

Leave a Reply

