My daily Bible verse for the week: “Be still, and know that I am God!

imagesJesusThis week i am focusing on drawing my strength from God and learning to be still. Psalm 46: 10 says, “Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” As i think about this verse i am reminded of the movie Jungle book where Mowgli and Baloo are singing ‘bare necessities. Baloo says to Mowgli, ‘ So just try and… relax. Yeah. Cool it. Fall apart in my backyard. ‘Cause let me tell you something, little britches: if you act like that bee at… Uh-uh. You’re working too hard. And don’t spend your time lookin’ around for something you want that can’t be found…

Sometimes it is easy to overwork like that bee and get tangled up in the everyday hassle and bustle of life. We buzz to the kitchen,buzz to school,buzz to pick up and drop off. We buzz to work and we buzz to church sometimes as if going round and round on a hamster wheel. Regardless of all of these things i am beginning to see that the word of God is my shield and my fortress in the midst of everything and i actually do not mind being like a busy bee as long as i know that Yahweh is the one directing my steps.

Father God i pray that you help me and anybody else reading this or searching for the truth to internalize that beautiful verse and to be still and know you are God in Jesus name Amen.

2 thoughts on “My daily Bible verse for the week: “Be still, and know that I am God!

  1. Thanks for this post! It’s so important to remember this in the excessive busyness of life. Really needed to read this today.

Leave a Reply

